Take me back!! I want my CSS!! Click me to get back :)

×

Are you missing out on your dream job?

Enrollment for Skillcrush Blueprints JUST OPENED. Register today!

Click Here

Launch a Design Career Webinar Summit

When I was growing up, I loved doodling with neon gel pens, creating trifold poster board projects (glue sticks, for the win!), and outlining my friends’ names with Mr. Sketch scented markers to pass to them in class. And as I got older, I let some of that creativity fall to the wayside.

But that doesn’t mean I lost my eye for design.

If you ever dreamed of a career in graphic design, sketched out all the ways to make your favorite apps even better, or wished you could get hired to create some of the beautiful work you see on Pinterest and Instagram, know this: you still have time to make a career out of your creative instincts.

That’s why we’re launching the Visual Designer Blueprint, where you’ll learn all the skills you need to start a new career as a designer.

And I’m excited to announce that to kick things off, we’re hosting a full-day webinar summit to introduce you to the field of visual design and show you what it takes to start a new career. You’ll leave the summit feeling informed about what’s possible and inspired to get started.

Shucks, you missed it! This webinar summit happened May 26, 2016! But that’s okay! You can watch ALL the full replays for free by clicking the link below.





WATCH THE WEBINAR REPLAYS




Why are we doing this?

Graphic design. Digital design. Product design. Visual design.

It’s a lot to sort out. 

These days being a “designer” can mean a lot of things. In this summit, we want to give you a taste of what kinds of design careers are available to you. And the best way to learn that? From real designers in the industry who can tell you what it takes to get started

In the free event, you’ll hear from design experts who will show you:

  • How to transition into design from another career, without going back to school
  • What types of design are practiced these days, and how you can tell what’s best for you
  • How designers work in the tech industry, and why they are so highly valued
  • The pros and cons of freelancing versus working for a company
  • Their best advice for beginners just getting started.

I know what it’s like to try to decide which career path is right for you, and it can get overwhelming figuring out exactly what skills you’ll need. This webinar summit is sure to give you a better idea of whether a career in design is for you.

RSVP for the webinar summit now, and start on the path to your dream job.

The Schedule:

WEBINAR SUMMIT SCHEDULE

Thursday, May 26th


Ximena-Headshot

11:00am ET / 8:00am PT, Changing Careers, Becoming a Designer, and Fostering Creativity with Ximena Vengoechea, User Researcher at Pinterest

Ximena Vengoechea is a design researcher, writer, and illustrator who currently works as a user researcher at Pinterest. Join us as she shares the story of how she changed careers and transitioned into design without going back to school.

 


aisha-headshot

12:00pm ET / 9:00am PT, The Designer Behind Skillcrush’s New Visual Designer Blueprint with Aisha Souto-Maior, Lead Designer at Skillcrush

Aisha is a visual designer and the Lead Designer here at Skillcrush. She’s sharing her tips for adapting throughout her career, plus she’s going behind the scenes on Skillcrush’s brand new Visual Designer Blueprint.

 

karen-headshot

1:30pm ET / 10:30 am PT, Why Design is SO Valuable to the Tech Industry + What That Means for You with Karen Timmermann, Visual Designer

Karen is a Mexican visual designer transplanted to the midwest. She works as a freelance graphic designer and app designer. She’s going to talk about the nuts and bolts of design and why it’s so important to the tech industry, plus share her best advice for beginners.

 

Natalie-Headshot

3:00pm ET / 12:00pm PT, Crafting a Brand Identity…and Why It’s So Fun with Natalie Cosgrove, Lead Designer at HelloFlo

Natalie is the Lead Designer at HelloFlo, a women’s health content and e-commerce brand. She’s a total expert at helping a brand craft a strategy and identity, and she’s going to share how it’s done and what it takes to make it as a digital designer.  

 

4:30pm ET / 1:30pm PT, How to Transition into a Design Career as a Beginner with Danielle Moser, Product Designer at Funsize

Danielle is a product designer at design firm Funsize in Austin, TX. In her Q&A, she’ll give us a behind the scenes look at product design and share her advice for getting into design as a total beginner.

 

beckysimpson-headshot-2

6:00pm ET / 3:00pm PT, Freelancing and Finding Your Unique Style with Becky Simpson, Illustrator, Author, Designer, and Founder of Chipper Things

Becky is a freelance illustrator, the author of 2 books, and the founder of her online design shop Chipper Things. She’ll share how designers can find their unique styles, plus dive into the pros and cons of freelancing.





WATCH THE WEBINAR REPLAYS




Shucks, you missed it! This webinar summit happened May 26, 2016! But that’s okay! You can watch ALL the full replays for free by clicking the link above.

Your email address will not be published.

0 comments

Want more articles like this?

Sign up to get the most recent tech news, tips and career advice.